Ufabulum

Squarepusher is back with a fantastic album: Ufabulum. I’ve been listening to it a lot recently and it has been a nice switch from my current chilled, earthy IDM streek. Squarpusher has always had this unique jazzy/breaks sound with all the zaps and pews. Jam-packing his records with enough material and samples to make 2 or 3 records of standard density. To me though, I’ve always only been able to handle a few tracks at a time – his music can be exhausting!

This album has been an interesting change in pace. I have, for the first time, been able to comfortably listen through the whole things a few times within relatively small time. The first 3 tracks are slow enough where you can actually take some time to breath and digest everything, rather than have it flush through your head like a monsoon.

I’m sure the die hard fans are not very pleased with this release, due to how “soft” it has gotten compared to his traditional “USE ALL THE SCI-FI AND VIDEO GAME SOUNDS NOW!” sound. Still, It was a fantastically dark and eccentric treat for me. One review described it having “angry-jazz-droids-run-amok vibe”… I laughed my ass off.

If you have a minute, give it a shot. The man is a fucking genius and I promise it won’t be a total waste of your time (or maybe it will be, just tell me it was so I can giggle at you). Here are some links.

http://warp.net/records/releases/squarepusher/ufabulum

Speaking of which, Moogfest posted a link to the Dark Steering video on their Facebook. If that means that Squarepusher is on the bill, it will certainly make me exponentially more certain not to miss it this year.

About Carwreck

A place for me to lali about stuff
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ufabulum

  1. I’m glad to see you posting again! You and I have not only very similar tastes in music, but also similar ways in which we analyze it.

    I’ve heard lots and lots about Squarepusher, but I’ve never actually listened to any of it. Guess I’ll go ahead and start doing that now 😀

    • Carwreck says:

      I hope I can keep it up – Now that the bulk of my festivals for the season are behind me

      And yes, dig into Squarepusher. He is an old school bad ass and has a vault of interesting material

Leave a Reply

